Search the Protocols

List of Donors

Make a donation to the protocols online

KLS Martin, LP

Hemostatix Medical Technologies, LLC

Cook Medical

Karl and Kay Rinehart

Boston Medical Products Inc.


Jon and Veda Foster


Synovis Micro Companies Alliance, Inc

Tom Benda, JR., M.D.

The Potash Family

UIHC Melanoma and Sarcoma Tissue Bank

Karl Storz-Endoskope

Heartland Regional Chapter of SOHN



The Department of Otolaryngology and the University of Iowa wish to acknowledge the support of those who share our goal in improving the care of patients we serve. The University of Iowa appreciates that supporting benefactors recognize the University of Iowa's need for autonomy in the development of the content of the Iowa Head and Neck Protocols.

HaN Admin Pages

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Search the Protocols:


For Nurses

    -Iowa Nursing Care 3JPW (specific protocols for UIHC) 
    -Nursing (handouts, careplans)
    -Instrument lists
    -Preoperative Patient Education Nursing Counselling

For Speech Pathologists

    -Voiceserve (A Listserve for Voice Professionals)


    -Chinese 中文   


Redirecting to:

Otolaryngology, Nursing, Audiology, and Speech Pathology

Editor: Henry Hoffman, MD

Managing Editors: Karen Dondelinger, Grant Worthington, and Kay Klein

Illustrated by Timothy McCulloch, MD

Chinese Editor: Jack Jiang MD, PhD

Protocols Student Editor: Stephanie Epstein

Head and Neck Surgery

Henry Hoffman, MD
Kristi Chang, MD
Nitin Pagedar, MD

Rodrigo Bayon, MD
Scott Graham, MD
Douglas Van Daele, MD
Steven Sperry, MD

Doug Henstrom, MD

Gerry Funk, MD

Eugene Chang, MD
Grace Nimmons MD
Timothy McCulloch, MD
Erin O'Brien, MD
Russell Smith, MD
John Lee, MD

Facial Plastic Surgery

Doug Henstrom MD
John Canady, MD
Grant Hamilton, MD

Pediatric Otolaryngology

Richard Smith, MD
Jose Manaligod, MD
Deborah Kacmarynski, MD
Andrew Heaford MD

Iowa Resident Protocol Awards

Iowa Otolaryngology Resident Protocols Awards


Bruce Gantz, MD
Marlan Hansen, MD
Jay Rubinstein, MD
Erika Woodson, MD


Sara Newhart RN, MSN
Cindy Dawson, RN, MSN
Helen Stegall, RN
Kari Fitzpatrick, RN
Patricia Wehrle, RN
Jan Ahlrichs-Hanson, RN
Kallie DeWall, RN

Head and Neck Radiology

Wendy Smoker, MD
Bruno Policeni, MD

Speech Pathology

Michael Karnell, PhD
Eileen Finnegan PhD

Pathology Teaching Module

Nathan Schularick, BA
Robert A. Robinson, MD PhD
Michael Gailey, DO

Iowa Head and Neck Protocols Wiki

Contributing Authors
Designer/builder: Leighton Christiansen/Nathan Culmer/August Shultz

Continuing technical support: Student Instructional Technology Assistants (SITA)
Contact SITA at:

Topics By Organ Site

Topic By Disease Process

Wiki Instructions and tools

Wiki Instructions
Protocols Page Title Index

The Protocols (Old style list, mirrors book.)


  • No labels